User Tools

Site Tools


classic:backup

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
Next revision
Previous revision
classic:backup [2013/09/04 06:05]
henning_stummer [Restoring Individual Images]
classic:backup [2015/10/29 10:38] (current)
penelope_chapron [Restoring Individual Images]
Line 1: Line 1:
 ====== Backup Originals ​ ====== ====== Backup Originals ​ ======
  
-To safeguard your precious images and image editing work, you should back up your Image Archive to CD or DVD on a regular basis. ​ Conveniently,​ the backup function is built into StudioLine.+To safeguard your precious images and image editing work, you should back up your Image Archive to CDDVD or Harddisk ​on a regular basis. ​ Conveniently,​ the backup function is built into StudioLine.
  
 We recommend you store your backups at a secure location away from your computer and, if possible, a different location altogether. ​ This way you will be able to recover your images even in the case of a catastrophic loss involving your premises. We recommend you store your backups at a secure location away from your computer and, if possible, a different location altogether. ​ This way you will be able to recover your images even in the case of a catastrophic loss involving your premises.
Line 26: Line 26:
  
   * To backup a folder, right-click on the folder in the Albums view of the Image Archive Pane.  Choose “Backup” → “Backup Folder to CD/DVD” from the context menu.  If applicable, StudioLine will prompt you whether to backup any subfolders.   * To backup a folder, right-click on the folder in the Albums view of the Image Archive Pane.  Choose “Backup” → “Backup Folder to CD/DVD” from the context menu.  If applicable, StudioLine will prompt you whether to backup any subfolders.
-  * To backup the entire Image Archive right-click on “Image Archive,” the topmost listing in the Albums view of the Image Archive Pane.  Choose “Backup” → “Backup Folder to CD/DVD” from the context menu.  When prompted whether to backup any subfolders, click “Yes.+  * To backup the entire Image Archive right-click on “Image Archive,” the topmost listing in the Albums view of the Image Archive Pane.  Choose “Backup” → “Backup Folder to CD/DVD” from the context menu.  When prompted whether to backup any subfolders, click “Yes”.
  
 The window “Backup Folder to CD/DVD ” opens. The window “Backup Folder to CD/DVD ” opens.
Line 36: Line 36:
 Once complete, StudioLine will suggest how you should label your disc(s). ​ Since StudioLine will refer to discs by its label, you should follow the suggestion and then store your backups in a safe location. Once complete, StudioLine will suggest how you should label your disc(s). ​ Since StudioLine will refer to discs by its label, you should follow the suggestion and then store your backups in a safe location.
  
-A backup disc can also be used to upload images to other computers that are running StudioLine. ​ The loaded images will include all descriptors,​ filters, tools, and settings. ​ However, given the critical importance of your backup disc, we recommended that you never let it out of your possession.+A backup disc can also be used to upload images to other computers that are running StudioLine. ​ The loaded images will include all descriptors,​ filters, tools, and settings. However, given the critical importance of your backup disc, we recommended that you never let it out of your possession.
  
 ==== Backing Up New Pictures ==== ==== Backing Up New Pictures ====
Line 47: Line 47:
  
   * Reinstall StudioLine.   * Reinstall StudioLine.
-  * Start StudioLine and open “File” menu and choose “Restore from Backup.+  * Start StudioLine and open “File” menu and choose “Restore from Backup”.
   * Follow the on-screen instructions.   * Follow the on-screen instructions.
  
Line 54: Line 54:
 To restore individual images, open the backup disc in “StudioLine Explorer -- My Computer” (via the “Browse and Load” button on the QuickStep Bar).  Navigate to the backup images and drag them onto the Image Archive desktop. To restore individual images, open the backup disc in “StudioLine Explorer -- My Computer” (via the “Browse and Load” button on the QuickStep Bar).  Navigate to the backup images and drag them onto the Image Archive desktop.
  
-StudioLine will recognize ​ if you try to restore an image that already exists in the Image Archive and display the window “Image Already Exists in Image Archive.+StudioLine will recognize ​ if you try to restore an image that already exists in the Image Archive and display the window “Image Already Exists in Image Archive”.
  
 The two topmost fields display the name of the backup image and its location in the Image Archive. ​ For external images, you can view the location of the physical picture by resting the mouse pointer over the second field. The two topmost fields display the name of the backup image and its location in the Image Archive. ​ For external images, you can view the location of the physical picture by resting the mouse pointer over the second field.
Line 60: Line 60:
 A drop-down list offers choices on how to proceed with the image. For internal images, you can: A drop-down list offers choices on how to proceed with the image. For internal images, you can:
  
-  * **Reload Original from Backup**\\ StudioLine replaces the master copy in the Image Archive with the backed up image from the backup disc.  The option “Include Filters and Descriptors” will be off by default; changes made after the backup will therefore be retained. ​ If you choose the option “Include Filters and Descriptors,” then the image, its descriptors,​ tools, filters, and settings are restored from the backup – effectively reversing any changes made after the backup.\\ Keep in mind that the image will be restored to the original location illustrated in the second field of the panel. ​ If this is not the same folder you dragged the disc  icon  to originally, then appropriate image shortcuts will be inserted into that folder. +  * **Reload Original from Backup**\\ StudioLine replaces the master copy in the Image Archive with the backed up image from the backup disc.  The option “Include Filters and Descriptors” will be off by default; changes made after the backup will therefore be retained. ​ If you choose the option “Include Filters and Descriptors”then the image, its descriptors,​ tools, filters, and settings are restored from the backup – effectively reversing any changes made after the backup.\\ Keep in mind that the image will be restored to the original location illustrated in the second field of the panel. ​ If this is not the same folder you dragged the disc  icon  to originally, then appropriate image shortcuts will be inserted into that folder. 
-  * **Create as New Image**\\ StudioLine creates a new image in the target folder you dragged the disc icon to.  The option “Include Filters and Descriptors” is always active by default. ​ You will now have two copies of the same image in your Image Archive. +  * **Create as New Image**\\ StudioLine creates a new image in the target folder you dragged the disc icon to.  The option “Include Filters and Descriptors” is always active by default. You will now have two copies of the same image in your Image Archive. 
-  * **Reload Original and Create Shortcut**\\ This functions like the option “Replace the Original with the Backup.”  However, StudioLine will create a shortcut in the folder where you dragged the disc icon to, which refers to the restored image at the original Image Archive location. +  * **Reload Original and Create Shortcut**\\ This functions like the option “Replace the Original with the Backup” ​However,​ StudioLine will create a shortcut in the folder where you dragged the disc icon to, which refers to the restored image at the original Image Archive location. 
-  * **Skip**\\ StudioLine will not restore the image. ​ This is equivalent to clicking the “Cancel” button.+  * **Skip**\\ StudioLine will not restore the image. This is equivalent to clicking the “Cancel” button.
  
-The option “Apply to All Backed Up Images” is only relevant, when you are restoring more than one picture at a time and you want the same choice to be used for all other images that may already exist. ​ If you deselect this option, you will be prompted for each image individually.+The option “Apply to All Backed Up Images” is only relevant, when you are restoring more than one picture at a time and you want the same choice to be used for all other images that may already exist. If you deselect this option, you will be prompted for each image individually.
classic/backup.1378289127.txt.gz · Last modified: 2013/09/04 06:05 by henning_stummer